IACAN is a member of
  • Asian Cancer Council at American Cancer Society
  • Asian American Health Coalition
  • Breast Health Collaborative of Texas


Board of Directors

  • President: Kumari Susarla, BS, MT(ASCP)

    Kumari Susarla is an ASCP board registered Medical Technologist and received her BS from University of Texas Health Science Center. She supervised Routine and Special Chemistry sections at UTMB Galveston. She has also worked in Laboratory Information Systems at M.D. Anderson Cancer Center and taught Medical Technology students. She enjoys her retired life by volunteering at Galveston County Master Gardeners and IACAN.

  • Secretary: Sarvesh Bhavaraju, MS

    Sarvesh is a Project Engineer with Bechtel Oil, Gas and Chemicals, Inc., Houston. He graduated with a Bachelor's and Master's Degree in Chemical Engineering, and worked in New Delhi, London before moving to Houston 1997. Sarvesh has been actively involved in organizing Marrow Drives in the South Asian community and works closely with the Gulf Coast Marrow Program, the local affiliate of the National Marrow Donor Program.

  • Joint Secretary: Arlene Mathew, MSW, LMSW


  • Treasurer: Suresh S Agrawal, Ph.D.

    Dr. Agrawal is a chemical engineer with degrees from IIT’s (Mumbai / USA) and is founder and CEO of oil and gas downstream refining consulting company, Offsite Management Systems LLC. He has worked and consulted with many international companies providing consultancy in his areas of expertise for 30+ years and has traveled extensively worldwide for the purpose. He has been active in Chinamaya Mission Houston and has recently joined the IACAN board as treasurer .

  • Sarvamangala Prasad, Ph D, Ph.D.

    Dr. Mangala Prasad has a PhD. in Biochemistry from Bombay University with Post-doctoral Research Fellowships at University of Arizona and Baylor College of Medicine, Houston. She was appointed Assistant Professor in 2000 in the Department of Cell and Molecular Biology and after 18 years as a research scientist at Baylor College of Medicine, Dr. Mangala Prasad is now devoting her time as a community volunteer with various local Indian organizations.

  • Raju Nandagiri, BS

  • Dr. Lakshmi Koyyalagunta, MD

  • Dr. Jagannadha Sastry, Ph D

  • Vijaya Sista, BA

  • Dipika Varia